Welcome to the Saint Cloud Area (MN) Branch of AAUW!

A message from the president

President Linda MacLeod

The Saint Cloud Area (MN) Branch of AAUW is achieving success in 2021 by maintaining a positive attitude and an enduring spirit.

This is our 99th year of community service in support of women and girls. We remain strong and committed to our mission: To advance gender equity for women and girls through research, education, and advocacy.

We value our members and strive to provide outstanding programming. Our inspiring speakers come from the community, universities, and businesses. We provide a network of like-minded women – new friends and acquaintances. We support each other through social activities and volunteer elbow-to-elbow in service of the community. We welcome new and prospective members to our two thriving book clubs.

Branch members are developing plans and logistics for our exciting new initiative for area high school girls — Savvy Teens –Seminars for Career Success on June 7 – 8 at Park Event Center in Waite Park. Twelve accomplished women will present information that will help students as they make career decisions. Beginning in April and ending May 15, students will be able to register through St. Cloud, Sartell or Sauk Rapids-Rice Community Education sites or directly from our Savvy Teens site. We are pleased to collaborate with area high school counselors, district community education organizations, St. Cloud State University, the College of Saint Benedict, and area business executives to offer Savvy Teens.

Fourteen students from St. Cloud State University and College of St. Benedict earned  scholarships from the branch for this year’s virtual National Conference for College Women Student Leaders (NCCWSL) in the Washington D.C. area. All of the students have accepted free AAUW membership, which is in effect until they graduate.

Updated information regarding TechSavvy, an AAUW STEM event for local middle school girls will be forthcoming.

Plans continue for An Evening of Inspiration & Empowerment, our annual fundraiser. The festivities on Thursday, October 21, include dinner, sought after raffle items, and a Melodies of Broadway performance of music and dance.

Work began early on the AAUW Minnesota State Convention, April 29-30, 2022, in St. Cloud. We hope 200 AAUW members from around the state will join us as we celebrate our centennial. The Park Event Center has been booked and this will be an event to remember!

We always are happy to answer any questions regarding our active and formidable AAUW branch. Please contact me for additional information.

Best wishes for your good health and happiness!

Yours Truly,

Linda MacLeod


Our Mission 
AAUW advances gender equity for women and girls through  education, research, and advocacy.

The American Association of University Women  – Saint Cloud Area (MN) Branch welcomes women with a two-year degree or higher from an accredited college or university to join us! When you become a member of AAUW, you are part of a local, state, and national organization comprised of educated, successful women who have supported women and girls since 1881.  The Saint Cloud branch began in 1922 and is still going strong today, with over 100 members! We are a strong voice in the community for women and   girls.

AAUW offers an online training program on salary negotiation. More than 102,000 women have registered and taken the WorkSmart course so far (98% found the information helpful and 72% said they were more confident in salary negotiation. Go to https://salary.aauw.org. We are determined to close the pay gap!

Equity for all
Nonpartisan, Fact-based, Integrity, Inclusion, Intersectionality
Education and Training, Economic Security, Leadership
In principle and in practice, AAUW values and seeks an inclusive membership,
workforce, leadership team, and board of directors.  There shall be no barriers to
full participation in the organization on the basis of age, disability, ethnicity, gender,
gender identify, sexual orientation, or socioeconomic status.